Astounding Simplicity

Image from en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Paper_Mario:_The_Thousand-Year_Door

I recently finished playing Paper Mario:_The_Thousand-Year_Door for the Gamecube, and now I am currently playing through Super_Paper_Mario for the Wii. One thing that surprised me, which I suppose shouldn’t surprise me at all, was how simple of a game it is. Of course when I first played through the game it was anything but simple. The combat system was easily mastered, and the puzzles didn’t seem hard at all, but it was a fun game none the less.

These were two of my favorite games as a kid and it has been a lot of fun replaying them. I do wish I could somehow re-experience my very first play through of these games, because it takes out a considerable amount of fun considering I remember how to complete every single puzzle. The most infamous puzzle in my memory is the one in Twilight Town. I didn’t know how to look stuff up on the internet, so I had to figure out this behemoth on my own. The part I was stuck at was the part where you had to get the bird to talk. Even though a good portion of my first play through was spent racking my brain trying to figure out how to complete this level, it was so incredibly satisfying when I finally did so. As opposed to my precise completion of  it this time around.

What do you think of Paper Mario, or games in general? Let me know in a comment!

Leave a Reply

