My First Time Witnessing the Real Occupy Wall St. Movement!

My friend's picture of the movement

The past week was officially my spring break and for the week my friend and ventured to Ney York City. We made the trip across the country on Friday, March 23, arriving late in the night and within the first day alone we managed to see so many different things. The highlight of my first day was probably witnessing the Occupy Wall Street movement for the first time. Despite the cold and slight drizzle, we watched from the side as thousands of New Yorkers joined together to stand up for a variety of different causes.

There were posters advocating different movements ranging from bringing down abusive Wall Street corporations to simply standing up for individual human rights. We also stayed long enough to listen in on a public meeting between many of the movement’s leaders.

The whole time we were there the area was flocking with police and crowd control officers. Many news stations were also present, waiting for something to go down so they could be the first to report on it. Overall, this brought about a feeling of hostility and nervousness between the protesters and the police and I saw many signs advocating protection from police brutality.

Although I don’t associate myself with the Occupy Movement and its many different causes, I do support their overarching goal of individual rights for the people and not for corporations.

This is just my opinion. What do you guys think about the Occupy Wall Street movement or any if the Occupy Movements? Let me know in a comment!

Leave a Reply

