Line 6 has Forced Guitarists to Rethink the Solid State Amp!

Line6.com

I thought for today’s post I would continue to talk guitar tech. Specifically, this post will focus on Line 6 products. I know that many guitarists have a moral issue with playing on a sold state amp, and to an extent I agree, but I think that Line 6 may just be the exception to this rule.

Line 6 amps and most sold state amps in general are terrible for high quality at high volumes. I would never suggest any of Line 6’s sold state amps for live performances, and their few tube / combo amps are not anything special. But if you want to be any good at live performances you have to practice, and this is where Line 6 is the king of the market. Their practice amps are amazing for heavy distortion at low volumes. Although some would argue that the sound is a bit flat, Line 6’s practice amps are still more rich in tone than any other solid state practice amps.

Not only does Line 6 own the bedroom shredder market, but it also has some of the highest quality and inexpensive guitar recording equipment. I bought a Line 6 UX1 when I was going on an extended vacation and I didn’t want to go without a guitar. Large amps were out of the question, and although there are conveniently sized practice amps for specific situations such as this, I wanted something that also had powerful distortion and supported headphones so I could play without disturbing anyone around me. Line 6’s UX1 fit the bill perfectly, and because it operates as an audio output for my computer, I was able to play along with my favorite songs while hearing my guitar relayed through my headphones.

I currently use this device for recording guitar for my band (click here for a sample of how it sounds). It comes with a program called PodFarm, a VST plug-in that operates as a virtual amp simulator. I can record a dry input signal from my guitar directly into my digital audio workstation, and then add any amp/pedal setup I want from Line 6’s extensive list of different customizable amps.

To conclude, I feel like Line 6 does not compete with any of the major tube amp companies such as Mesa or Marshall when it comes to live performing. This is simply due to the fact the solid state cannot compete with real tubes when you are talking about both volume and tone. But if you are looking for recording quality guitar tones for professional use, or just for your own enjoyment, Line 6 is the right choice. Anything from the UX1, which goes for around $90.00 onLine, to the Pod 500, which goes for around $500.00, Line 6 provides quality and affordable recording for guitar, or any plug-in instrument.

This is just my opinion. What do you guys think about Line 6? Do you have any Line 6 products? Let me know in a comment!

One response to “Line 6 has Forced Guitarists to Rethink the Solid State Amp!

  1. Pingback: Asking Alexandria – The Final Episode (Lets Change The Channel) (Guitar Cover)! | Potassium Pizza Party

Leave a Reply

