My Russian Alter Ego

As my about me page will testify, I was born and raised in Santa Barbara California. So why does my Xbox live avatar look like a Russian war veteran? and why does my info say I live in moscow Russia? And most importantly why is my avatar saying Russian profanity?

My about me page will also tell you that I enjoy acting, and actors must have an array of accents in their arsenal. So to perfect my accents I practice them over Xbox live, just to make it a little more fun. One day while I was playing Nazi Zombies (and practicing my Russian accent), I found myself in a group with a kid who believed I actually was Russian. Normally when people believed I was of another country it would end there, but this kid invited me to a party with some of his friends. I expected to enter a lobby full of “squeakers” marveling over my Russianness, instead I entered a lobby full of chill mature gamers. They all quickly accepted me and had no doubts about my Russian claims.

There have been some close calls though, since they think I’m so awesome, they are always inviting me to parties. And if I’m already in a party, they will join the one I’m in, so I will quickly have to switch to a Russian accent and hope the other people in the party won’t say anything. Another problem is I have to pretend I know how to speak Russian every time they ask me how to say this or that in Russian. I got by by saying things that sounded Russian, but I needed a better solution. When I saw the book Dirty Russian I knew I found gold.

Now, every time they ask me to say something in russian I randomly flip through the book and say a couple phrases. Not only does the book tell me how to speak Russian, it also tells me what it’s like in Russia. So when they ask me about Russia I can actually tell them some truth.

I will undoubtably post more about my Russian alter ego (who unfortunately needs to be named Ryan due to my gamertag) in the future. If anything major happens concerning him and his friends I will post an update as soon as possible.

What do you think of my Russian alter ego? have you ever fooled anyone on Xbox Live in any way? Let me know!

5 responses to “My Russian Alter Ego

  1. 5 Does the blogpost have an interesting, engaging title? (5 points)
    10 Does it include at least ONE of the three elements of a good blogpost? (Comedy, Education, Inspiration) (10 points)
    10 Does your post include a photo? Is the photo your own or did you give credit if not? (10 points)
    5 Do you have at least one category? (5 points)
    5 Do you have 5-7 tags? (5 points)
    5 Is there a “call to action”? (5 points)
    10 Did you do all required blogposts for the week? (10 points)
    50 out of 50 points

Leave a Reply

